In this KB article, we will explain the process of stopping Cloudways billing. Please be advised that you can always reach out to us via LiveChat or open a support ticket if you are facing any issues and we will be glad to assist you.
How to Stop Cloudways Billing
Cloudways charges for each server(s) and paid add-ons active under an account. If you no longer need a server, then you should follow these steps:
Delete the server(s)
Deactivate add-ons (if any)
The above steps ensure that you are not charged for any inactive/unused servers and add-ons. We highly recommend downloading the backup so that you can restore your websites/applications on a new server without any issues.
Charges Against the Inactive Resources
The reason you receive a charge for an inactive server is due to the hardware resources (CPU, RAM, Disk space, and IP address) that remain allocated to your account until you delete the server. Our upstream providers charge us for every active and inactive (stopped/paused) server.
Any DigitalOcean, Linode, or Vultr server(s) launched will incur charges, regardless of the server’s status (active/inactive). Whereas for AWS and GCE, a stopped server incurs minimal charges, only for disk space and IP address.
If you wish to avoid charges for any active add-on(s), you should deactivate it from the Add-ons section.
If you are deleting a server or deactivating a paid add-on in any month, you will receive one last invoice in the next month due to the post-billing nature of our platform.